China Scholarship Council - Chinese Government Scholarships Scholarship


In order to promote the mutual understanding, cooperation and exchanges in politics, economy, culture, education and trade between China and other countries, the Chinese government has set up a series of scholarship programs to sponsor international students, teachers and scholars to study and conduct research in Chinese universities. China Scholarship Council (hereinafter referred to as CSC), entrusted by the Ministry of Education of People’s Republic of China (hereinafter referred to as MOE), is responsible for the enrollment and administration of Chinese Government Scholarship programs. 279 designated Chinese universities offer a wide variety of academic programs in Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Law, Economics, Management, Education, Liberal Arts, Philosophy, History, and Fine Arts for scholarship winners at all levels.

Supporting Categories

Chinese Government Scholarship supports international students, teachers and scholars to pursue degrees at all levels (bachelor’s, master’s and PhD) or non-degree studies and to conduct research in China.


Chinese Government Scholarship covers both major study and Chinese language/ preparatory study. The table below illustrates the duration of each category.

Supporting CategoriesMajor Study
(academic year)
Chinese Language /Preparatory Study
(academic year)
Duration of Scholarship
(academic year)

Undergraduate students4-5up to 24-7
Master’s students2-3up to 22-5
Doctoral students3-4up to 23-6
General scholarsup to 2up to 1up to 2
Senior scholarsup to 1up to 1up to 2

Instruction Language

1. Instruction language for undergraduate students

Undergraduate scholarship winners must register for Chinese-taught credit courses. They are required to take one-year Chinese language/preparatory courses in one of the nine universities listed below and to pass the required test before moving on to their major studies.

Entrusted by MOE, the following 9 universities offer Chinese language/preparatory courses to undergraduate scholarship winners. They are Tianjin University, Nanjing Normal University, Shandong University, Central China Normal University, Tongji University, Beijing Language and Culture University, Northeast Normal University, Beijing International Studies University, and Capital Normal University.

Undergraduate scholarship winners can apply for preparatory course exemption if they

  • complete their secondary education in Chinese or
  • have valid HSK certificate that meets the requirements of the host university.

Official documents from secondary schools or a photocopy of valid HSK certificate must be submitted for preparatory course exemption application. Please NOTE that HSK results are valid for 2 years only.

2. Instruction language for graduate students and non-degree students.

Graduate and non-degree scholarship students can register for either Chinese-taught program or English-taught program if applicable.

● Scholarship recipients of Chinese-taught programs without adequate Chinese proficiency must take Chinese language courses for one to two years to reach the language requirements of their host universities before moving on to their major studies. Failure to reach the required language proficiency will lead to the automatic termination of scholarship. Chinese language courses will be one year for majors in Science, Engineering, Agriculture, West Medicine, Economics, Management, Law and Fine Arts, and be no more than two years for majors in Liberal Arts, History, Philosophy and Chinese Medicine.

● Scholarship recipients of English-taught programs or those with adequate Chinese language proficiency do not need to take Chinese language courses.

Courses Available

279 Chinese universities are designated by MOE to enroll international students with Chinese Government Scholarship, and they offer a wide variety of programs. Introduction to the universities and the programs they offer can be found in A List of Chinese Institutions Admitting International Students under Chinese Government Scholarship Scheme. 

Download the listing here.

 Scholarship Standard (RMB/year)



  • Category A includes Economics, Management, Law, Education, Liberal Arts, History, and Philosophy; 
  • Category B includes Science, Engineering, and Agriculture; 
  • Category C includes Fine Arts and Medicine.

Full Scholarship covers

● Tuition waiver;

● Accommodation: free university dormitory or accommodation subsidy;

If the host university requires students to live on campus, the university will accommodate scholarship students in university dormitory (usually twin room); if the host university permits students to live off campus, the university will provide monthly/quarterly accommodation subsidy:

  1. undergraduate students/master’s students/general scholars: CNY 700 per month;
  2. doctoral students/senior scholars: CNY 1000 per month.

● Living allowance:

  1. undergraduate students: CNY 2,500 per month;
  2. master’s students / general scholars: CNY 3,000 per month;
  3. doctoral students / senior scholars: CNY 3,500 per month.

Within the scholarship duration, registered scholarship students will receive living allowance from their host university month by month.

Students registering before the 15th of the month (the 15th included) will receive full living allowance of that month. Those who register after the 15th of the month will receive half living allowance of that month.

If registered student stays out of China for more than 15 days (school holidays excluded), his living allowance will be stopped during his leaving.

● Medical insurance

Partial Scholarship covers

● One or some items of the full scholarship. 

Source - China Scholarship Council

Contact Info

No 9-1, Jalan Sri Hartamas 7, Taman Sri Hartamas, 50480 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
+60 12 380 0501 (KY Lee)                            (WhatsApp and WeChat ID - ky_lee7 available)      wecharwhatsapp

Some of our Universities